Methodological and technological challenges in hydrocarbon exploitation of northern West Siberia fields: production and facility construction

Alexey V. Yazkov Ph.D., deputy general director for development NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen ayazkov@gmail.com
Yuriy N. Dolgikh Sc.D., scientific secretary NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen YNDolgikh@novatek.ru
Aleksandr A. Kurkin senior expert NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen aakurkin@novatek.ru
Artur Z. Nasibullin head of directorate NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen
Liliya M. Kadochnikova Ph.D., senior expert NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen LMKadochnikova@novatek.ru
Yana V. Kuznetsova Ph.D., senior expert NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen YVKuznetsova@novatek.ru
Petr I. Eliseev head of department NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen eliseev@novatek.ru
Pavel A. Kudrin director of department NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen Kudrin@novatek.ru
Maksim S. Grigor'ev deputy general director for drilling NOVATEK STC LLC, Tyumen MSGrigoriev@novatek.ru
DOI: 10.24411/2076-6785-2019-10045

In 2010, the Government of the Russian Federation adopted a comprehensive plan for the development of liquefied natural gas (LNG) production in the Arctic part of Western Siberia. "NOVATEK" company is one of the key responsible for the implementation of the state plan. Implementing such major projects as Yamal LNG, Arctic LNG 1, 2, 3, the company has faced a number of technological challenges. The answers to these challenges enabled us to acquire considerable experience and knowledge, which is necessary for the technological development of not only our company, but also for the whole fuel and energy complex of the country. The article briefly highlights the problems and main achievements of NOVATEK in the technologies of exploitation and field facilities construction. The most promising ways to increase the hydrocarbons development efficiency in the Extreme North are proposed.


Download article